STA Receives Impactful Technology Grant

January 9, 2024

St. Teresa’s Academy is excited to announce a grant award from the Children’s Services Fund of Jackson County. This one-time grant will fund specific hardware and software needs for the Academy’s innovative science/STEAM program. Specifically, funds will support Girls Who Code, a computer science extracurricular program, and the Academy’s anatomy and physiology classes, which are essential to those who may pursue a career in the medical profession.

Girls Who Code is a nonprofit organization that aims to close the gender gap in the technology and engineering fields. With the mission of empowering and encouraging young women to pursue careers in computer science and technology. At STA this extracurricular encourages students to collaborate, and to take on challenges, ultimately fostering a growth mindset and resilience. These skills provide a strong foundation of knowledge and build the confidence female learners need for a future in technology and computer science, close the gender gap in technical fields, and change the image of what a programmer looks like and does. The grant will provide various Texas Instruments STEM tools to explore activities ranging from engineering design, coding and operating a rover.

STA’s anatomy and physiology classes support a large number of students who are interested in the medical profession. Healthcare is becoming increasingly technology driven, and the Vernier probeware provided through this grant will allow students to collaboratively learn data collection technology to deepen their understanding of the human body. The grant will also fund imaging software that will provide a three-dimensional image of the body that can be manipulated and customized in order to explore the intricacies of the body’s systems and provide a realistic dissection experience without the need for physical specimens.

STA’s focus on innovation is crucial to developing essential qualities STA strives to instill in its students. Many thanks to STA science faculty members Sarah Holmes and Mary Montag for leading this effort.