STA honors Mother Evelyn O’Neill Award recipients

March 8, 2022

Every year, St. Teresa’s Academy honors one community leader and one student with the Mother Evelyn O’Neill Award, which recognizes excellence in leadership, community service or educational reform.

Mother Evelyn O'Neill Award 2022
Pictured (l to r): STA President Dr. Siabhan May-Washington with student nominees Stella H., Sanai K., Riyan J., Samantha B. and Jillian P. At right is Dr. Jimmie Bullard, the 2022 community award recipient.

Serving through education

Jimmie Bullard, Ph.D., exemplifies the meaning of service. For the last 25 years, she has served families and individuals in Kansas City through urban education, both as a teacher and administrator. Dr. Bullard is committed to ensuring students have an optimal environment for learning, including culturally relevant pedagogy, which increases successful academic and social outcomes for students of color.

Dr. Bullard currently serves as principal of Banneker and Longfellow elementary schools in Kansas City Public Schools.

Giving to others with grace

This year’s student recipient of the Mother Evelyn O’Neill Award is Sanai K. Sanai is an STA senior who is particularly interested in tackling challenges in the city’s urban core.

She is involved extensively with MO Hives KC where, in addition to caring for the bee hives, she teaches visitors about honey bee behaviors and the essential impact they have on the environment. Sanai has volunteered with the American Heart Association (AHA) since elementary school by participating in activities such as fundraisers and speaker panels. She recently testified to Kansas City civic leaders to encourage the passing of an ordinance banning flavored tobacco products often used in teen vaping, and participated in a follow-up panel to discuss solutions to the vaping epidemic.

Sanai recently received the Neil Smith Community Service Award from the Derrick Thomas/Neil Smith Third and Long Foundation. This annual honor is presented to a female athlete who has demonstrated outstanding community service.