Mother Evelyn O’Neill Award

The acquisition of knowledge and the consequent physical, mental and moral development of the individual to the end that one may learn the truth about all things and thus be closer to and more like God.

Mother Evelyn O’Neill

Recognizing excellence in leadership, community service or educational reform.

In 1908, Mother Evelyn O’Neill, a member of the faculty, was appointed Superior of St. Teresa’s Academy, then located at 12th and Washington Streets in downtown Kansas City. Though Mother Evelyn and all associated with the old Academy loved it loyally, businesses were being built on all sides and many realized the need of a new site for the school. Mother Evelyn was determined to make the necessary change.

In securing permission for a new location and in arranging for the loan to finance the undertaking, Mother Evelyn displayed an unshakable faith in divine providence and in the intercession of St. Joseph, as well as a heroic degree of courage, humility, and perseverance. Added to these virtues, Mother Evelyn possessed a zeal for Catholic education, an aesthetic sense, and great foresight, which enabled her to envision a future for the Academy she loved so dearly.

Mother Evelyn died at Nazareth Convent in Lemay, Missouri, on December 26, 1938, at the age of 79 and in her 62nd year of religious life. Most of those 62 years were spent at STA.

The Mother Evelyn O’Neill Award recognizes excellence in leadership, community service or educational reform.

2022 Recipients
Community Recipient: Dr. Jimmie Bullard
Student Recipient: Sanai Kintchen, Class of 2022
Read More

Past community recipients include:
Carol Hallquist, Kathleen Andrews, Debby Ballard, Angela Bennett, Sister Corita Bussanmas, Connie Campbell, Dorothy Curry, Dr. Mary Davidson Cohen, Kimberley Davis, Charlotte Davison, Nancy Dillingham, Mary Esselman, Sister Rosemary Flanigan, CSJ, SuEllen Fried, Barbara Friedman, Suzanne Gladney, Anita Gorman, Carol Grimaldi, Lisa Hughes, Mamie Hughes, Mary Lou Jaramillo, Sue Jarvis, Georgia Lynch, Carol Marinovich, Albertine McGurk, Mary Kay McPhee, Mary K. Meyer, Paige O’Connor, Sister Berta Sailer, Beth Smith, Susan Stanton, Ellen Suni, Rita Valenciano, Dr. Faith Wilson, Sheri Wood

Past student recipients include:
Ella Sowle – 2021, Anna Grace Albritton – 2020, Claire Wunder – 2019, Liv DeSantis – 2018, Gabrielle Pesek & Eilis Leptien – 2017, Tricia Melland – 2016, Gracie Fleming – 2015, Madison Fitzgerald – 2014, Carrie Hudson – 2013, Emma Allen – 2012

*The student winner is awarded a gift of $250 to be given to the charity of her choice.